AGENDA FOR THE MAYOR CHOOSING CEREMONY OF TOTNES TOWN COUNCIL THURSDAY 24TH MAY 2018 AT THE GUILDHALL TOTNES

You are hereby invited to attend the Mayor Choosing Ceremony, which is to be held in the Guildhall, Totnes on Thursday 24th May 2018 at 12 noon (seats to be taken at 11.30am) for the purpose of transacting the following business:

The Town Mayor, Councillor Rosie Adams, will preside.

- The Election of the Mayor and Chair for the Council Year 2018/19 will take place.
 Councillor Rosie Adams will propose and Councillor Jo Sweett will second that Councillor Judy Westacott MBE be and is hereby elected Town Mayor of Totnes for the ensuing municipal year.
- 2. Councillor Marion Adams will propose and Councillor Kate Sermon will second that Councillor Rosie Adams be and is hereby elected Deputy Town Mayor of Totnes for the ensuing municipal year.

The Town Mayor, the Deputy Mayor, the Retiring Town Mayor and Retiring Deputy Mayor, with the Town Clerk, will proceed to the Mayor's Parlour, where the Mayor and Deputy will be robed before the Mayoral party returns to the Lower Chamber.

(Those present are requested to stand as the Mayoral party returns to the Lower Chamber)

- 3. The Town Mayor and Council Chair will take the Oath and preside for the remainder of the Meeting.
- 4. The Mayor will receive apologies.
- 5. The Mayor will nominate Prebendary Julian Ould as Town Mayor's Chaplain for the ensuing municipal year.
- 6. The Town Mayor will express thanks for her election.
- 7. A Vote of Thanks will be given to the Retiring Mayor **(Cllr Rosie Adams)** by Cllr Judy Westacott. The Retiring Mayor will then reply.
- 8. Members will be appointed to serve on standing committees of the Council as follows: Those Councillors elected to serve on the under-mentioned will be endorsed by the Council. A formal Motion will be put to the Council by Cllr Louise Webberley for election of representatives to the following:

Formal Committees:

Operations Committee, Planning and Place Committee, People Committee, Personnel Committee

Lead Councillors:

Cultural; Arts; Elderly and Vulnerable People; Young People/Youth; Heritage; Open Space, Sport and Leisure; Traffic and Transport; Environment and Sustainability.

The meeting will then be closed.

A Senior Student from King Edward VI Community College will request the traditional Mayor's Holiday and, assuming it is granted, pupils from the Grove Primary School and St. Johns C of E Primary School will respond.

"Three Cheers for Her Majesty the Queen"

Attendees are invited to St Mary's Church for the Civic Service before lunch in the Seven Stars at 1.30pm

Nominations 18/19

Mayoral Candidates – Councillor Judy Westacott MBE

	Committee Membership
Operations	Cllr Tony Whitty – CHAIR, Cllr Marion Adams, Cllr Rosie Adams,
	Cllr Jacqi Hodgson, Cllr Pip Paine, Cllr Emily Price and Cllr Judy
	Westacott.
Place	Cllr Ray Hendriksen – CHAIR, Cllr Georgina Allen, Cllr Jacqi
	Hodgson, Cllr Pip Paine, Cllr Kate Sermon and Cllr Robert Vint.
People	Cllr Jo Sweett – CHAIR, Cllr Georgina Allen, Cllr Marianne Parker,
	Cllr Ben Piper, Cllr Kate Sermon, Cllr Louise Webberley, and Cllr
	Judy Westacott.
Personnel	Cllr Rosie Adams, Cllr Marion Adams, Cllr Jo Sweett, Cllr Tony
	Whitty, Cllr Judy Westacott. (Chair will be appointed in the first
	meeting)
	Link Councillors
Cultural	Cllr Marion Adams, Cllr Georgina Allen and Cllr Emily Price
Arts	Cllr Georgina Allen, Cllr Ben Piper and Cllr Kate Sermon.
Elderly and Vulnerable People	Cllr Marianne Parker, Cllr Louise Webberley and Cllr Judy
, the second sec	Westacott.
Young People/Youth	Cllr Jacqi Hodgson, Cllr Marianne Parker, Cllr Emily Price, Cllr Jo
	Sweett, Cllr Robert Vint and Cllr Louise Webberley.
Heritage	Cllr Georgina Allen, Cllr Ben Piper and Cllr Tony Whitty.
Open Space, Sports Provision,	Cllr Jacqi Hodgson, Cllr Jo Sweett, Cllr Louise Webberley and Cllr
Leisure	Tony Whitty.
Traffic and Transport	Cllr Georgina Allen and Cllr Jo Sweett.
Environment and Sustainability	Cllr Jacqi Hodgson, Cllr Piper and Cllr Robert Vint.
	epresentatives on Outside Bodies
Totnes Traffic and Transport	Clir Sweett.
Forum	
TADPOOL	Cllr Webberley and Cllr Whitty.
Totnes Allotments Association	Cllr Hodgson and Cllr Vint.
Vire Twinning Association	Clir M Adams and Clir R Adams.
Totnes Municipal Charities and	Clir M Adams, Clir R Adams, Clir Paine and Clir Sweett.
Totnes Bounds Charity	can the data of the terror of te
KEVICC Foundation Governors	Cllr Price and Cllr Webberley.
Parish Paths Partnership	Clir Allen and Clir Whitty.
Totnes Hospital League of Friends	Clir Westacott.
River Dart Non-Beneficiaries	Cllr M Adams and Cllr Whitty.
Group	Ciri W Additis and Ciri Whitty.
DALC County Committee	Cllr Hodgson.
DALC Larger Councils Committee	Clir R Adams.
Totnes Chamber of Commerce	Clir Allen and Clir Price.
Fairtrade	Clir Sermon and Clir Vint.
Caring Town	Cllr Parker and Cllr Vint.
Network of Wellbeing	Cllr Piper.
Bridgetown Alive	Clir M Adams.
Daisy and Rainbow Childcare	Cllr Parker and Cllr Westacott.

